September 25, 2020, 10:00 pm

Abu Taher Bappa

2020-08-06 19:57:42 BdST

Teknaf OC, 6 others sent to jail

Teknaf police station's Officer-in-Charge Pradip Kumar Das and six others including Baharchara Police outpost Inspector Liakat Ali have been sent to jail in connection with the killing of retired Army major Sinha Mohammad Rashed Khan in police firing.

Senior Judicial Magistrate Tamanna Farha of Cox's Bazar Chief Judicial Magistrate's Court issued the order today after they were produced before the court. 

Two other accused of the case were not present there.

Security was tightened at the Cox's Bazar court premises, with a noticeable increase in the number of police and intelligence agency members. 

Earlier on Thursday, Police took Pradip Kumar into custody as he went to the Chattogram Metropolitan Police Headquarters Hospital. Later CMP members along with Pradip left for Cox's Bazar court around 2pm.

Among others, Sub-Inspector Nanda Dulal Rakkhit, Constables Safanur Karim, Kamal Hossain, Abdullah Al Mamu, Mohammad Mostafa and Assistant Sub-Inspectors Liton Mia and Tutul were produced before court.

Earlier on Wednesday night, arrest warrants were issued against Pradip Kumar, Baharchhara Check-post In-Charge Liyakat among nine policemen over the incident. 

On Wednesday, Sinha's sister Sharmin Shahria Ferdous filed a case at the Judicial Magistrate court. On the same day, Pradip Kumar Saha was withdrawn to the police lines over the killing.

Inspector of Baharchhara Police Investigation Centre Liyakat Ali and Officer-in-charge of Teknaf Police Station Prodip Kumar Das were made first and second accused in the case respectively.

Other accused are - policemen Nando Dulal Rakkhit, Safanur Karim, Kamal Hossain, Md Abdullah Al Mmaun, Liton Miah, Tutul, and Md Mustafa.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from Crime & Corruption