April 15, 2024, 3:50 pm

Staff Correspondent

2024-03-03 10:10:16 BdST

President appoints seven new state ministers

President Mohammed Shahabuddin on Friday evening appointed seven new state ministers in the cabinet led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

The newly appointed ministers are Shahiduzzaman Sarkar, a member of the parliament from Naogaon-2, Abdul Wadud, MP from Rajshahi-5, Nazrul Islam Choudhury, MP from Chattogram-14 constituency and Rokeya Sultana, Shamsun Nahar, Wasika Ayesha Khan and Nahid Izahar Khan from the reserved seats.

President Mohammed Shahabuddin administered the oath of office to them at Bangabhaban at 7: 30pm.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, other cabinet members, parliament members and high-rank civil and military officials were present on the occasion.

According to clause (2) of Article 56 of the Constitution, the President appointed them as state ministers of the government, according to a notification issued today.

Among the seven ministers, Shahiduzzaman Sarkar has been appointed as the State Minister for Planning, Abdul Wadud for the Rural Development and Cooperative Division, and Nazrul Islam Choudhury for the Ministry of Labour and Employment.

Besides, Rokeya Sultana has been appointed as state minister for the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Shamsun Nahar for the Ministry of Education, Wasika Ayesha Khan for the Ministry of Finance and Nahid Izahar Khan has been appointed as state minister for the Ministry of Cultural Affairs.

Sheikh Hasina secured a record fourth straight term as her party Awami League won two-thirds of the seats in the general election held on January 7.

Later, she also formed the government comprising 37 ministers, including 11 state ministers.

With the addition of the seven new state ministers, the total number of the cabinet now stands at 44, including 18 state ministers.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from National