FT online

2019-02-20 12:14:49 BdST

JS reserved seats: Newly elected women MPs sworn in

The newly elected members of parliament (MPs) to the seats reserved for women in the 11th parliament have been sworn in.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath to the newly elected MPs in the oath-taking room of the Jatiya Sangsad on Wednesday morning.

The speaker first administered the oath to the elected MPs of the ruling Awami League, then the MPs of Jatiya Party, and the MPs from other parties, in separate functions.

Lawmakers Prof Masuda M Rashid Chowdhury, Advocate Salma Islam, Prof Rawshan Ara Mannan and Nazma Islam took oath in presence of Jatiya Party Secretary General Moshiur Rahman and President HM Ershad.

On Sunday, the Election Commission published an official gazette with the names of the 49 elected candidates for the parliamentary seats reserved exclusively for women.

Among them, 43 elected women MPs are from the ruling Awami League, four are from Jatiya Party, one is from Workers Party and another is independent.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from National