Al Fahad

2020-02-16 15:39:16 BdST

AL finalizes candidates for JS by-polls, CCC

 Awami League (AL) today finalized its candidates for vying in the by-polls to Dhaka-10, Bogura-1, Bagerhat-4, Jashore-6 and Gaibandha-3 parliamentary constituencies and Chattogram City Corporation (CCC) polls.

AL General Secretary and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader formally announced the names of the candidates after a meeting of AL Local Government Election Nomination Board at Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s official residence Ganabhaban here this evening.

Former president of the Federation of Bangladesh Chamber of Commerce and Industries (FBCCI) Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin was nominated for vying in the by-polls to Dhaka-10, Sahadara Mannan, wife of former AL lawmaker late Abdul Mannan, for Bogura-1, Krishak League General Secretary Umme Kulsum Smriti for Gaibandha-3, Shahin Chaklader for Jashore-6 and Amirul Alam Milan for Bagerhat-4.

Besides, Chattogram City AL General Secretary Rejaul Karim Chawdhury was nominated for the mayoral post of CCC.

Earlier, a total of 78 aspirants collected nomination papers to get party tickets for the parliamentary constituencies while 20 collected nomination forms for mayoral post and 405 for counselor posts to contest the CCC elections.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from National