Al Fahad

2020-02-16 16:16:21 BdST

Rezaul Karim to contest Chattogram city polls with boat symbol; Shafiul from Dhaka-10

The ruling party also nominated former president of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI) Md Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin for the by-polls to Dhaka-10.

Besides, Umme Kulsum Smrity has been picked for Gaibandh-3 by-election, Shahin Chakladar for Jashore-6, Amirul Islam Milon for Bagerhat-4 and Sahadara Mannan for Bogura-1 by-polls.

The decisions were taken at a joint meeting of the AL Parliamentary Board and AL Local Government Nomination Board meeting. Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina chaired the meeting at her official residence in Gono Bhaban.

By-elections to Gaibandha-3, Bagerhat-4 and Dhaka-10 constituencies will be held on March 21.

The Commission is likely to announce the polls schedules for the CCC election, and Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 parliamentary by-polls on Sunday.

The Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 constituencies fell vacant following the death of Awami League MPs Dr M Eunus Ali Sarkar and Dr Mozammel Hossain.

The Dhaka-10 fell vacant as AL MP Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh resigned on December 29 to contest the Dhaka South City Corporation election.

The Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 constituencies fell vacant following the death of AL MPs Abdul Mannan and Ismat Ara Sadique.

Lesser known in Chattogram politics, Rezaul Karim Chowdhury was president of Chattogram College Chhatra League Unit. He is also the founding chairman of Chaktai Khal Khanan Sangram Committee and convener of Chattagram Nagorik Andolon.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from National