Titli Khan

2019-01-09 14:04:15 BdST

Mashrafe stars as Rangpur thrash Comilla by 9 wickets

Defending champions Rangpur Riders has beaten Comilla Victorians by nine wickets in their match of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Tuesday (Jan 8).
Masrhafe Bin Mortaza’s career-best bowling in T20, coupled with Nazmul Alam’s three-for, helped Rangpur to continue its winning streak as they restricted Comilla to 63 all out.
 Chasing a small target, Rangpur reached home in 12 overs losing only its opener Chris Gayle.
Mehedi Maruf scored 36 not out off 39 balls with six fours and Rilee Rossouw was unbeaten with 20 off 28 balls.
Earlier, Rangpur sent Comilla to bat after winning the toss. Comilla struggled from the start losing five wickets for just 18 runs
 Shahid Afridi was the only batsman to reach a double-digit score. He scored 25 off 18 balls with three fours and one six.
Victorians’s 63 is their lowest first-innings total and fourth lowest first-innings total in the history of BPL.
Mashrafe took four for 11 runs surpassing his previous best bowling in the BPL of three wickets for 16 runs.
Besides Mashrafe and Nazmul, Shafiul Islam bagged two wickets and Farhad Reza took another one.
Rangpur beat Khulna Titans in their second game after losing the first match to Chittagong Vikings.
Rangpur will play Dhaka Dynamites in their next match at 2pm on Jan 11 while Comilla will take on Rajshahi Kings in their next match on the same day at 7pm.
Both matches will be held at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka’s Mirpur.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from Sports